The Plaza Literary Prize 2017 Winner

Cherry Cherry by Taryn Tilton was selected as The Plaza Literary Prize 2017 winner. The prize was judged by our 1888 team of readers and the 2017 Jury–Michael Dean Clark, Rachel Howzell Hall, R. Dean Johnson, Yi Shun Lai, and Krys Lee. Taryn’s novella will be published with cover artwork by Steve Niilo.

The Plaza Literary Prize is a national novella competition. We believe a great story is never defined by its length and welcome all genres and themes with compelling characters and evocative moments. We’re looking for our generation’s Hemingway, Oates, or Steinbeck.

The City of Orange, California was incorporated on April 6, 1888. The center of the town became known as the Plaza, which has become a symbol of the community and a catalyst for storytelling.

The Plaza Literary Prize 2017 Short List:

  • Four Small Love Stories by Ariel Lewis
  • Evening by Joanna Brewer
  • The Loneliest Sea Monster by Kilby Allen



Taryn Tilton is a writer and translator. She lives in Buenos Aires, where she also teaches creative writing workshops at Walrus Books. Taryn has an MFA in Fiction from Warren Wilson College, where she was the Rona Jaffe Foundation Graduate Fellow, and a BA in Chinese Language and Literature from Middlebury College.